Passionate About Fighting For The Rights Of Injured Clients

Time Limit to File an Iowa Workers’ Compensation Claim

On Behalf of | May 4, 2021 | Workers' Compensation

When you are injured at work, it is important to report the injury to your employer promptly or risk being denied workers’ compensation benefits. In fact, an employee must provide their employer notice of an injury within 90 days of its occurrence to be eligible for benefits. The 90 day period starts when an employee knows or should know that an injury is related to work. Employees are under a two year statute of limitations (Time Limit) to receive weekly benefits or to file an application for arbitration if benefits are denied.

What If My Workers’ Comp Payments Stop?
If you have received weekly benefits in the past, there is a three year statute of limitations from the last payment of those weekly benefits to file a contested case proceeding for benefits or to receive additional benefits voluntarily. There are a number of reasons an insurance company may use to terminate or attempt to terminate your weekly benefits. It may be because you are cleared to work following an independent medical exam despite the fact you are truly disabled or it could be a situation where you skipped treatment for a while and now the insurance company does not want to pay.

There are many reasons someone may be denied workers’ compensation outright or have their benefits stopped, however unfair. Unfortunately, it is not uncommon for an insurance carrier or employer to try to save money instead of caring for their workforce. When you are denied workers’ compensation, it is important to seek the help of a highly experienced and knowledgeable Iowa workers’ compensation attorney. Loney & Schueller will get you maximum monetary settlement and, even after our fees, most of our clients actually received more money than they would have if they had filed the claim themselves! For your free consultation, call 515-416-4006 or use our online form.